Colours all round

Posted on Updated on

Image

While researching for a feature I’m working on about colour therapy I found out that colours have meanings. Because they are light (and the Sun is light), and like all other things, light emits vibrations. Each colour has its own vibration, and so thus it heals through the very same vibration that it is comprised of.

More than that, I found out that each colour has meaning and certain chakra that is linked to.

Which made me think then, what does my favourite colour say about me, and what yours say about you?

Generally speaking, colours have been proven to alter mood and improve physical health.

Purely because I’m currently a bit too tied up to elaborate, here’s a link to site that shed a bit more light on the subject for me: http://abt.cm/1dQYEli

But still, what was even more interesting was finding out that healing through the use of colour is an ancient technique rooting from ancient Egypt. Other civilizations are known to have used this kind of ‘alternative’ healing, such as those of Atlantis, Mu, Lemuria and so on….

With that said, speaking to a colour therapist and finding out more on the subject made me think, why is my favourite colour purple? I know that since the first time i was introduced to a box of wax crayons, the big fat purple wax stick was always my favourite. I loved purple so much that when I was old enough to have my own room and my mom was repainting the house, I begged her to have my walls painted in lilac. She found this a bit baffling because it clashed with her green colour scheme completely. (all the walls in our house are green by the way. Which is not a bad colour choice considering green is said to be “a great souce of rejuvenating you life energies.”)

My mom took my purple craze to another level when she bought me matching lilac bed linen and complimentary curtaining. I was over joyed! And I still because even though I don’t live at home anymore, my mum still repainted my room (which is now my daughter’s room) in a shade of my favourite colour.

I’m wearing purple right now, that’s how much i love it.

So what is it about my colour?

Well, apparently wearing purple means “… you want to be noticed.”

That’s not so far off… I’m a Leo, being noticed is my thang 🙂

But more than that, the colour purple is linked to enlightenment, creativity and ideas. Where purple or violet auras are concerned (and I’ve a purple aura most of the time. Don’t ask me how i know… I just do.), it deals with “healing, cleansing and soothing the soul.”

And if we take it to chakras, the crown chakra (violet or purple) is associated with the ” pituitary gland and the thalamus. These glands control the central nervous system, and they are located in the center of the brain.” This chakra ” is the seat of higher consciousness and the master chakra of the body.”

Now don’t I feel special for loving the colour purple. And to think for longest time I felt weird for liking, no, loving it as much as I do.

4 thoughts on “Colours all round

    tbree1 said:
    April 8, 2014 at 12:27 am

    Liked your post – I wrote about colors too! Check out http://tbree1.wordpress.com/2014/02/12/love-colors-food-for-thought – its a cool subject thats for sure!

      lithakazi responded:
      April 8, 2014 at 8:04 am

      Yes it is. And your piece on colours is very interesting. I think I’ll check out the web site you sited. Thanks

        tbree1 said:
        April 10, 2014 at 12:19 am

        My pleasure! And thanks for stopping by!

    lithakazi responded:
    April 10, 2014 at 7:02 am

    😉

Comments are closed.