Now

Posted on Updated on

It’s been a while since I posted anything on this here blog of mine. I attribute that to my not having constant access to the internet, but for NOW I do so I’ll take full advantage of this good fortune.

After about 6 weeks of unemployment, I’m happy to report that I have, yet again, entered the numbers of people who are over worked and under payed. Yes indeedy, I found a job. I’m more than grateful to have something other boredom to complain about.

Don’t get me wrong, marathon series watching is one of my favourite things to do, but after going through three series that consist of 5 or 6 seasons, that activity gets old very fast. And once you’ve reread all the books on your book shelves, you kinda want to slit your wrists after the third week of sitting at home doing nothing.

NOW, my worries boil down to getting stuck in traffic for an hour and a half on my to and from work. That and the fact that i leave the house before sunrise and return after sun down really takes it out of me. I miss relaxing outside, with a cup of tea while watching the sunset…. And I normally was able to this when I was my previous job because getting to work took me about 15 minutes, and NOW having to travel from Westdene to the north of Joburg takes up all of that relaxation time.

But even so, I appreciate the hours when I get to listen to the radio or have a random conversation with the person sitting next to me on the bus. And the cherry on top is that NOW, when my daughter asks me for something, I can say “I’ll get to you after in few weeks baba,” which in book means, “After pay day baba.” Oh ya…. Money and it’s power over our lives is indisputable and most irritating.

Alrighty then, off to the real world… the NOW.

